DUI in New Jersey
A DUI offense can remain on your record for many years, affecting your ability to get a job and sometimes leading to jail time. DUI charges can also be very costly, sometimes resulting in thousands of dollars of compensation. Depending on the details of your case, you might have options available.
Determining Your DUI Defense in Winslow
In order to prevent the consequences of a DUI charge, it is crucial to discuss your case with a DUI lawyer to fully understand your options. Your defense may depend on the following details of your case:
Your blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is the amount of alcohol in your blood system. The legal limit varies, depending on your state’s laws. The limit is often tested at the time of the arrest. In New Jersey, the legal BAC limit is 0.08 percent. This means that if your BAC is .08 or higher, you can be charged with a DUI. The problem with breathalyzers is that they are not always accurate. Additionally, if your limit was not tested until you reached the police station, it may not be considered an accurate representation of your blood alcohol content level.
Your previous record can also affect your ability to negotiate a DUI charge down. Previous offenses that include drinking and driving can lead to more severe legal charges on additional charges. First-time offenders may be able to reduce their sentence in return for things like:
- Alcohol awareness class
- Lower sentence
Details of the Arrest
The details of the arrest can also make a difference to your legal charges. Some DUI charges may be accompanied by additional legal charges, which can make it more difficult to build a DUI defense. Your behavior at the time of arrest can also affect your ability to negotiate lower charges. Keep in mind, if you are ever arrested for a DUI, it is best to remain calm, follow the police officer’s orders, and request to talk to a DUI legal representative.
Why Hire a DUI Lawyer for Your Cherry Hill DUI Defense
Carrying a DUI charge on your record can be life-changing. In New Jersey, a DUI can stay on your record for up to 10 years, with 9 points, which will often mean higher insurance rates. A DUI can also affect your ability to gain employment. Depending on your charges, the state may also take away your driver’s license, leaving you without transportation. Some DUIs might even require jail time.
A DUI defense lawyer can help you in the following ways:
- Negotiate probation instead of jail time
- Avoid a license suspension
- Remove the charge from your legal record
- Reduce the amount you pay
- Avoid court time
There are many reasons why you might consider hiring a defense lawyer for your DUI charges. With over 40 years of combined legal experience, you can trust the legal team at Garber Law to assist you in building your DUI defense case. Don’t let an inexperienced lawyer affect your future, the risk is too great.
Contact an Experienced Collingswood DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at Garber Law represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Camden, Cherry Hill, Gloucester Township, Winslow, and throughout New Jersey. Call (856) 435-5800 or fill out our confidential contact form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office located at 1200 Laurel Oak Rd, Voorhees Township, NJ 08043, in addition to an office located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.